The morning of 25th November 2015 was a red-letter day for the cadets of 89th Indian Naval Academy Course (INAC) of the Indian Naval Academy (INA), Ezhimala.  On this day they were awarded BTech degrees by the Vice Chancellor, Indian Maritime University, Chennai, Shri Ashok Vardhan Shetty, at a somber Convocation Ceremony held at INA in the presence of the proud parents and guardians of the graduating cadets.  Commandant, Vice Admiral Ajit Kumar P, Deputy Commandant & Chief Instructor, Rear Admiral MD Suresh and Principal, Rear Admiral K S Venugopal were also present at the Convocation Ceremony.  
The Ceremony marked the culmination of a grueling 4-year training regimen, wherein the AICTE accredited B Tech degree is run simultaneously with and parallel to a harsh curriculum of Navy-specific subjects and an Intensive Outdoor Training curriculum.  Insofar as the BTech course is concerned, cadets acquired their degrees in one of three streams viz., Applied Electronics and Communication Engineering (AEC), Electronics and Communication Engineering (ECE) or Mechanical Engineering (ME), under the aegis of the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi.  The INA’s sixth B Tech graduate course of 86 cadets received their Graduation Certificates and Mark Sheets, issued by the University, from the Vice Chancellor. He also delivered the convocation speech, in which he complimented and congratulated the graduating cadets and their parents. He reminded the cadets that the graduation or completion of BTceh course is only the beginning of a life long learning process. He exhorted them to always be passionately curious, eager to learn new things, be a continuous learner and have a right attitude to succeed in life. 
The Chief Guest also awarded trophies to meritorious cadets. The ‘Chief of the Naval Staff Rolling Trophy’, for the cadet adjudged best in academics for the 89th INAC (BTech) was awarded to Flotilla Cadet Adjutant Jaswant Singh. The ‘Chief of the Naval Staff Rolling Trophy’, for the best project in AEC stream was awarded to Flotilla Cadet Captain Paras Singh and team. The ‘Chief of the Naval Staff Rolling Trophy’, for the best project in ECE stream was awarded to Squadron Logistics Cadet Vivek M and team. The ‘Chief of the Naval Staff Rolling Trophy’, for the best project in ME stream was shared by teams lead by Squadron Logistics Cadet Jairam S and Cadet Abhishek Mukherjee.